Back to News

2017 Winter Steam Ceilidh Challenge – Contestants Announced

January 4, 2017

Kansas City, Missouri-  The MHAF Board of Directors is pleased to announce the Winter Steam Ceilidh Challenge contestants and order of play. Winter Steam, to held at Kansas City Marriott – Country Club Plaza Grand Ballroom, will immediately follow the Pipes and Drums Concert, January 14, 2017.  This “anything goes” free-style musical contest offers cash prizes awarded to winners, generously donated by Dr. and Mrs. William Bulkley, and Donn Pratt.

Adjudicators will be an official Winter Storm panel.


1st – $1,250
2nd – $1,000
3rd – $750
4th – $500
5th – $250

Contestants and Order of Play:

(Subject to Change)
1. Griffin Hall/Austin Diepenhorst
2. The Creighton Duo with special guests Marcus Wenlock and Kyle Rotschild
3. MacMillan Pipe Band
4. Sean Patrick Regan
5. Jori Chisolm
6. St Thomas Episcopal All-Stars featuring Graham Brown and Lyric Todkill
7. Duncan Winters
8. Steven MacDonald
9. Campbell Webster
10. The Canadian Forces Elite 8th Wing Drum Corps, Trenton, ONT – Warrant Officer Joe Kiah at the helm!
11. Rhys O’Higgins
12. ‘Hail Caledonia’ The whirling dervish Bill McCall Ensemble and Strings
13. Zephan Knichel/Kyle Wallis Madcap Affair
14. James Dyson
15. The tree ddrruummiinn lads – Scott Fletcher, Grant Maxwell, Derek Cooper
16. Alisdaire and John Lee
17. Dave Mason